Game Recap #41- Suns 106- Cavs 98

 

Well, it was better? I guess? Maybe? Who knows.

I’ll say this, the games are generally closer for the Cavs at home. That’s something.

I’m not going to continue to re-type the same stuff over and over again just to meet some sort of word count. They can’t play defense. At all. Although, the Suns did manage to go only 6-19 from 3, but it wasn’t because the Cavs were contesting. It was because the Suns were missing open shots. Either way, I’ll take it.

So, instead of focusing on the obvious bad that we see every game, let me take some time to point out a guy who I have to give some credit to.

JJ Hickson Is Trying

He is still an utter disaster on defense. He still forces entirely to many shots. He still has the basketball IQ of a tree. He still can’t pass the ball. BUT, he is finally starting to rebound the ball with some force.

Three of his last five games he has gone for double-digit rebounds and in one of the others he grabbed nine. The guy has all the talent in the world to be a really good rebounder, and maybe, just maybe, he’s starting to put it together. Almost all of it is due to effort. Before, you’d see him intentionally jump late for rebounds, knowing full well he wouldn’t get the rebound but would also appear to be trying. He wasn’t. Now, he’s actually willing to bang bodies and knock guys around for a board. Good for him. Good for this team. They need SOMETHING from SOMEONE to show some improvement. So far, this year has been a big year of regression for everyone. Finally, we might have something to point to.

Now, I could hammer Hickson for about 20 other things, but why. We need something positive to focus on. There will be the next game where I can rip the team from top-to-bottom and I’m sure they will deserve it. But for now, let’s at least applaud Hickson’s improvement on the boards. It’s the best we are going to do for a while, I’m afraid.

About fyatroll

I'm a recent college graduate who is waiting to head to law school. I figured I'd use my down time to write about something that I truly enjoy, the Cleveland Cavaliers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

