Game Recap #77: Cavaliers 104- Raptors 96

I’m simply not going to lie. I could care less about winning these last few games. Seriously, this time next year will you be looking back and saying “Damn, I wish we had won 20 games instead of 17?” I doubt it. I do care about the draft. Frankly, I’m pissed off that this team is A. playing bad teams who are missing their best players (Captain Jack last night, Bargs tonight) and B. winning.

Don’t get me wrong, I totally understand that a coach and his players can’t go out there and not to try to win. I’m not pissed at them. They are doing their jobs. I’m just pissed off at the situation. To me, the top two picks are going to be really good players and after that it’s a crap shoot. I’d like to make sure we don’t start adding ping-pong balls until the 4th pick instead of the 5th pick. Whatever, on to the game.

The Cavs simply looked fantastic in all aspects. It was probably their most complete game of the season. At no point did you ever think the Raptors were going to win the game and that’s saying something against a team that has managed only TWO double-digit wins all season. Total dominance.

Hickson looked fantastic. He was hitting jumpers, including step-back jumpers. Baron Davis was the best player on the court and it wasn’t even close. During one stretch in the 1st half, he started to go all Curly Neal and throw over-the-shoulder, behind the back passes and what not. Ryan Hollins continues to grow on me. The guy has the length, foot speed, and athletic ability to become a really, really good defender ESPECIALLY on pick and rolls. Usually teams like to put the biggest guy on the opposing team in pick and roll situations. Having a guy who has legit size that can hold his own on pick and rolls is essential in today’s game. Obviously, he needs to get a lot better on the boards, but as a back-up C he’s not to terrible.

Sessions was Sessions. He drove the hoop at ever chance and didn’t much care about finding his teammates. Against certain teams he can be very effective doing just that.

All of these good things said, don’t get too excited. Afterall, these were two bad teams who were also missing their two best players who just happen to be Cavalier killers (especiall Stephen Jackson). Also, the Raptors had less energy that what I had when I fell asleep on the cough earlier this evening. They were completely dead tonight. Was pretty shameful to watch..unless you’ve been a Cavs fan and have seen that about 5346 times already this season. We’re used to it.

About fyatroll

I'm a recent college graduate who is waiting to head to law school. I figured I'd use my down time to write about something that I truly enjoy, the Cleveland Cavaliers.
This entry was posted in Game Recaps. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

