General Posts: Thank God It’s Over

Sorry for the belated post, but I’ve been quite busy lately. Anyway, I thought it would be a good idea to have a look back on the season that was.

Early on, there was quite a bit of over-hype about this team. I understand most of it came from the want to simply be better than the media said we would be in order to stick it in number 6’s face. I get it. However, I never thought this team would be good. I picked them to finish ahead of Toronto and Detroit in the East, and that was it. I thought they would win roughly 32 games.

Obviously, even I was being way to optimistic. I simply had no idea that this team would be as bad defensively as it was. Simply one of the worst displays night in and night out that you or I have ever seen.

It was a rough season. The games that stick in my mind have to be the 30 point loss in Minnesota and the 20 point loss to Washington, at home, which was Washington’s first road win of the season. Some really, really low points.

That said, I must say the season ended up better than I thought it would all things considered. 19 wins is better than 32 in the grand scheme of things. Getting an extra lottery pick is better than hanging on to Mo Williams. The rebuild started sooner than I figured it would and I must say that pleases me a great amount. Ultimately, I feel better about this franchise than I did at the start of the season. How many teams can say that? Can you say that if you are a Detroit fan? Can you say that if you are a Sac-town fan? What about a Toronto fan? At least we Cleveland fans can absolutely, positively say that this team right now is in better shape than before the season started. That’s a good thing.

Looking ahead, everything starts with these two draft picks. Obviously that starts with the draft lottery. I’m convinced this draft IS better than last year’s. I do believe there are two absolute studs in this draft and another 4-5 players that have a couple of all-star games sometime in their futures. If we whiff on these two picks, then that will make this season look like a total waste. Let’s hope Grant continues his hot streak for our sanity as Cleveland fans.

About fyatroll

I'm a recent college graduate who is waiting to head to law school. I figured I'd use my down time to write about something that I truly enjoy, the Cleveland Cavaliers.
This entry was posted in General Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

